God’s Friendship

God is a God of laughter, as well as prayer…a God of singing, as well as tears.

God is at home in the play of His children.

He loves to hear us laugh…

We must try to make the distinction between worship

and work

and play

less sharp…

 

If you can’t take God into your recreation there is something wrong with the way you play.

If God, for you, does not smile, there is something wrong with your idea of God.

 

We all believe in the God of the heroic.

What we need most these days is the God of the humdrum

…the commonplace

…the everyday.[1]

As Scottish pastor, Peter Marshall, so poetically elucidates, God wants to be a part of our lives.  It’s easy to think of God as the party-crashing, joy-kill who anxiously peers over your shoulder poised to point an accusatory finger every time you are having too much fun or are doing something nonspiritual.  God wants to be a part of our lives, not as a menace, but as a friend and life-long companion.

The following excerpt from an anonymous contributor offers a spin on God’s loyal life-long companionship:

“I’ve toughed out some up-and-down friendships in which I have been hurt by unintentional rejection, bruised by loss of confidence, and burned by inexplicable dissension.  None of those friendships compared to the friendship that God has had to tough out with me.  I may have been hurt in my friendships, but God has been more pained by me.  I may have been loyal in my friendships, but God has been more loyal toward me.  I may have been patient and persistent in my friendships, but God has been more patient and persistent with me.  Through God, I have experienced the meaning of true friendship.”

God is a long-suffering, loyal, patient, and persistent friend. He wants to be a part of our lives the way close friends are a part of our lives, sharing in successes and disappointments; hardships and joys; church services and mundane Monday mornings. There’s nothing quite like God’s friendship!

[1] Marshall, C. (1951). A Man Called Peter: The Story of Peter Marshall. Grand Rapids, MI: Chosen Books.

Leave a Reply

A WordPress.com Website.

Up ↑

