Opposition and Persecution

For the longest time, I never thought too seriously about Jesus’s disciples. I knew that the Twelve were Jesus’s followers and close friends, but I didn’t consider their personalities, ages, and levels of comprehension. That has all changed.

I’ve come to realize that, first, each disciple had something to enhance the Kingdom of God. Take Peter for example. Peter was truly the Rock who strengthened and electrified the early church. And then there’s John, also known as “the disciple whom Jesus loved,” who wrote, in my opinion, an unparalleled account of Jesus. Peter the “Rock” and John the “disciple whom Jesus loved” were just two of the Twelve who had something original to contribute to the Kingdom of God. Peter and John, and the rest of the Twelve, were ordinary men. The Bible does not say how old each of the disciples were, but I think they must have been around Jesus’s age. The disciples were not perfect, some like Judas and Thomas became well-remembered for their dubious deeds.

Although what I just mentioned about the disciples is fascinating, I found that the most exciting aspect about the disciples was how their lives mirrored my own. I don’t think that the disciples comprehended everything that Jesus said and did (at least not until after He rose again), yet the disciples were willing to stick it out even after so many followers deserted Jesus. Additionally, the disciples listened to slander, lies and threats. They also faced scorn and persecution. Despite all the worldly stipulation and influence, the eleven disciples remained faithful to Jesus.

If there is one thing I want to take from the disciples’ stories it is to remain faithful to Jesus. I know that I will face opposition, rejection, and persecution. I want to hold on to Jesus, my ever-present light, and simply follow Him. I want to gain a better understanding of what it truly means to be one of Jesus’s disciples.

Leave a Reply

A WordPress.com Website.

Up ↑

